How do I Reset my Phone?

Posted by Rob Schnetzer on Thu, Oct, 03, 2019 @ 13:10 PM Schedule a FREE IT Network Assessment

Purchasing a new phone can be fun, but a lot of stress as well, part of that comes from having to wrap things up with your new phone and making sure your old phone isn't going to give up any personal information when you trade it in, or sell it. 

We will teach you how to wipe your phone with the worry of leaving personal information on the device. 

With the new iPhone 11 just introduced in September, and Google about to reveal the worst kept secret on the internet also known as the Pixel 4 on the 15th and Microsoft throwing its hat in the ring again on a Surface version of a phone, you might be considering upgrading to this year’s newest phone or even possibly one of the more reasonably priced phones. Here’s a quick walk through on how to do that on iPhone and Android. 

 A couple of points to note before you do this,

Make sure you have your password or pin numbers you've  used to set up your phone If you have password managers everything Is backed up to the cloud. Biometrics don’t transfer don't rely on those when transferring your devices information.

As a secondary measure of safety make sure you are logged out of all accounts before you begin erasing your device. These can be found under the app your trying to log out of.

On Android this means Gmail, Google Play store and any work, external email or web browser programs you use.

For iPhone this means iTunes, Apple Mail and any external mail or web browser programs you use.

And of course, any banking, media, e-commerce sites including anything that might store your password or biometrics to log you into that program.

 

For Android 6.0 or Older Android Operating Systems:

  1. For added security on older phones (Android 6.0 and older) Encrypt your phone, For a long time now bad actors have had the ability to employ off the shelf software to recover your phone even after a factory reset. So to be completely sure you have all your data off your phone and it is not recoverable follow these steps.
    1. Fully charge your phone
    2. Go to Settings
    3. Security
    4. And encrypt phone (Under Samsung it’ll be Lock Screen & Security -> protect encrypted data)

    Phones running Android 7.0 and above need not do this.

 

For Android 7.0 or Newer Operating Systems:

1. Go to Settings.

2. Under General Management select Reset.

3. Find the Factory Data Reset option.

 This will prompt you to enter your pin number, only proceed if you’d like to go ahead and remove everything from your phone.  

If your Android has an SD card remember to remove it,  it is usually located in a slot with your sim card however if that’s not the case refer to your phones manufacturer on its removal.

For iPhone:

1. Go to Settings

2. General 

3. Reset and then select the option Erase All Content and Settings.

It’ll prompt you for your apple ID password and as soon as you enter it it should remove all data from your device.

Getting a new phone can be fun but stressful, we hope this help relieve some of that stress

Topics: Android OS, iOS, Cellphone Security